UCL Graduate School Research Poster Competition 2011/12

Poster Competition 2012

On 27th and 28th February, we ran a Research Poster Competition which offered graduate students an opportunity to meet, advertise and discuss the innovative research they are undertaking, thereby providing them with an opportunity to raise the profile of their research.

The exhibition attracted interest among academics and other graduate students. Entries were displayed in the North & South Cloisters.

Overall 293 students registered for this year's Research Poster Competition (Arts & Humanities, Laws, Social & Historical Sciences – 15; Built Environment, Engineering Sciences, Mathematical & Physical Sciences – 84; Brain Sciences & Life Sciences – 86, and Medical Sciences & Population Health Sciences – 108).

Thanks to all the students who entered.


Arts & Humanities, Institute of Education, Laws, Social & Historical Sciences

First Prize (£400)

Stuart Eve, Institute of Archaeology
"Dead Men's Eyes: The use of augmented reality in Archaeology"

Runners-up (£100)

Emmy Bocaege, Institute of Archaeology
"Re-construction of dental growth profiles through the identification and analysis of perikymata on human teeth from Catalhoyuk, Turkey"

Anna Barros , Department of Anthropology
"Ontogeny of humeral torsion in humans and African apes: is humeral torsion a homology or a homoplasy?""

Built Environment, Engineering Sciences,
Mathematical & Physical Sciences

First Prize (£400)

Roselle Thoreau, Department of Civil, Environmental & Geomatic Engineering
"Mobility Scooters, the long term health impacts"

Runners-up (£100 each)

Vasiliki Giagka, Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering
"Active Implants: Placing an IC in your spine"

Massimiliano Materazzi, Department of Chemical Engineering
"Clean energy from waste: fundamental experimental and modeling investigations on high temperature 2-stage gasification"

Joanna Brunker, Department of Medical Physics & Bioengineering
"Flow measurements using the pulsed photoacoustic Doppler effect"

Brain Sciences & Life Sciences

First Prize (£400)

Andrew Beale, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
"The circadian clock of a blind cavefish can detect light"

Runners-up (£100 each)

Vivian Kei Ying Lee, Institute of Ophthalmology
"Vitamin D reduce retinal inflammation and clears amyloid beta systemically in aged mice"

Gemma Williams, Department of Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology
"Mapping touch and nociception in the human infant brain"

Anna Benedykcinska, Institute of Neurology
"A Novel Method for Inducing a Stem Cell Type-Specific Cre-lox Recombination in adult brains"

Medical Sciences & Population Health Sciences

First Prize (£400)

Charlotte Warren-Gash, Research Department of Infection & Population Health
"Influenza infection and risk of acute myocardial infarction"

Second Prize (£200)

Prasad Sawadkar, Division of Surgery and Interventional Sciences
"Testing of a modified suture technique to accommodate a tissue engineered tendon in vivo"

Runners-up (£50 each)

David Carr, Institute for Women's Health
"Prenatal Ad.VEGF gene therapy - a promising new treatment for fetal growth restriction"

Sara Hillman, Institute for Women's Health
"An Insulin Resistant Phenotype in men who father a pregnancy affected by Fetal Growth Restriction (FGR) "

Katherine Ordidge, Division of Medicine
"Bifunctional iron oxide nanoparticles for MR imaging and hyperthermia therapy in cancer"

Poster Competition 2012 - Winners
2012 Research Poster Competition and 2012 Review Competition Winners


The Graduate School would like to thank the following who acted as judges:

Arts & Humanities, Laws, Social & Historical Sciences

– Prof Stephen Hart, Vice-Head of the Graduate School and Dept of Spanish & Latin American Studies (Chair)
– Dr Helene Burningham, Dept of Geography

Built Environment, Engineering Sciences,
Mathematical & Physical Sciences

– Prof Tom Fearn, Dept of Statistical Science (Chair)
– Dr Chiara Ambrosio, Dept of Science & Technology Studies
– Mr James O'Leary, Bartlett School of Architecture
– Dr Adrien Desjardins, Dept of Medical Physics & Bioengineering
– Dr Paul Greening, Dept of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering


Brain Sciences & Life Sciences

– Prof Chris Danpure, Vice-Head of the Graduate School, Biosciences (Chair)
– Prof Rosemary Varley, Psychology and Language Sciences
– Prof Max Telford, Biosciences
– Dr Kirsten Harvey, School of Pharmacy
– Dr Jon Roiser, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience

Medical Sciences & Population Health Sciences

– Dr Dave Spratt, FGT, Eastman Dental Institute (Chair)
– Dr Vivek Mudera, Surgery & Interventional Sciences
– Prof David Muller, Institute of Child Health
– Dr Anne McMunn, Epidemiology and Public Health
– Prof Benny Chain, Research Dept of Immunology


Our competition pages contains details of the entrants. Should you wish your details to be removed, please contact docschoolweb@ucl.ac.uk.