UCL Graduate School Research Poster Competition 2007

Research Poster Competition 2007

26 – 27 February 2007, we ran a Research Poster Competition which offered graduate students an opportunity to meet, advertise and discuss the innovative research they are undertaking, thereby providing them with an opportunity to raise the profile of their research.

The exhibition attracted interest among academics and other graduate students. Posters were displayed in the North & South Cloisters.

This year UCL research students from China were invited to contribute their research posters to a special display. The 'China at UCL' display took place on Day 1 of the competition.

Overall 144 students registered for this year's Poster Competition (Arts & Humanities, Laws, Social & Historical Sciences – 7, Built Environment, Engineering, Mathematical & Physical Sciences – 41, Biomedical Sciences – 72, Life Sciences – 24).

Thanks to all the students who entered.


Arts & Humanities, Laws, Social & Historical Sciences

First Prize (£400)

Andrew King, Anthropology
How do baboon groups make decisions?

Runner-up (£100)

Alexander Dickson, Geography
Climate variability in the Southern Benguela Region during Marine Isotope Stage 11

Built Environment, Engineering Sciences,
Mathematical & Physical Sciences

Three Equal First Prizes (£230 each)

Anushini Muthutantri, Mechanical Engineering
Novel method of preparing hydroxyapatite foams

Xueni Pan, Computer Science
Real Man meets Virtual Woman: A Study of Social Anxiety in a Virtual Environment

Elisa Rondini, Computer Science
Distributed Computation in Wireless Ad Hoc Formations with Bandwidth Control

2007 Competition Winners
2007 Competition Winners
Biomedical Sciences

First Prize (£400)

Claire Gannon , Institute of Child Health
The Teashirt3 transcription factor marks a novel renal tract lineage and controls smooth muscle development in the ureter

Runners-up (£100 each)

Katalin Bartus, Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research
Blood vessels talking to neurones

Abhishek Das, Immunology & Molecular Pathology
Global CD8+ T cell hyporesponsiveness in patients with high level chronic HBV infection associated with downregulation of proximal signalling molecules

Clare Munns, Institute of Child Health
Differential induction of cold sensitivity in sensory and sympathetic neurons by blockade of voltage-gated potassium channels

Anita Sharma, Surgery
Optical tomography of breast disease and bone density

Claire Townsend, Institute of Child Health
Mother-to-child transmission of HIV in the UK and Ireland: 1990-2004

Life Sciences

Four Equal First Prizes (£175 each)

Samantha Easton, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Metagenomic Analysis of the Human Tongue using Phage Display

Clare Howarth, Physiology
Matching energy supply and expenditure to computation in the cerebellum

Hui-Yi Lo, Psychology
Insight into compulsive buying:A new exploration of purchase judgments and decision making in addictive buying behaviour

Mary Pearce, Phonetics & Linguistics
Evolving or revolving? Changes in a tone language


The Graduate School would like to thank the following who acted as judges:

Arts & Humanities, Laws, Social & Historical Sciences

– Professor Stephen Hart, Dept of Spanish & Latin American Studies (Chair)
– Dr Tom Gretton, Dept of History of Art

Built Environment, Engineering, Mathematical & Physical Sciences

– Dr Tony Harker, Dept of Physics & Astronomy (Chair)
– Marco Federighi, Dept of Electronic & Electrical Engineering
– Dr Nikolas Kaltsoyannis, Dept of Chemistry
– Professor Angela Sasse, Dept of Computer Science
– Susan Ware, Bartlett School of Architecture


Biomedical Sciences

– Dr Rachel Chambers, Dept of Medicine (Chair)
– Professor David Katz, Dept of Immunology & Molecular Pathology
– Professor Christine Kinnon, Institute of Child Health
– Dr Vivek Mudera, Institute of Orthopaedics & Musculoskeletal Science
– Dr David Spratt, Eastman Dental Institute

Life Sciences

– Professor David Attwell, Vice-Head, Graduate School & Dept of Physiology (Chair)
– Professor Chris Danpure, Dept of Biology
– Professor Tony Dickenson, Dept of Pharmacology
– Professor Patrick Haggard, Dept of Psychology
– Professor Jane Maxim, Dept of Human Communication Science


Our competition pages contains details of the entrants. Should you wish your details to be removed, please contact docschoolweb@ucl.ac.uk.