UCL Graduate School Poster Competition 2004

In March 2004, we ran a Research Poster Competition which offered graduate students an opportunity to meet, advertise and discuss the innovative research they are undertaking, thereby providing them with an opportunity to raise the profile of their research.

Posters were displayed in the JBR, Old Refectory and the South Cloisters. The exhibition attracted interest among academics and other graduate students.


The Graduate School would like to thank the following who acted as judges:

Arts & Humanities, Laws and Social & Historical Sciences
· Prof Tim Mathews, Chair
· Prof Tamar Garb

Built Environment, Engineering and MAPS
· Prof David Bogle, Chair
· Prof Steven Miller
· Prof John Platt
· Prof Philip Steadman

Clinical Sciences
· Prof Vince Emery, Chair
· Dr Rachel Chambers
· Prof Mary Collins
· Dr Vivek Mudera

Life Sciences
· Prof David Attwell,
· Prof Tony Dickenson
· Prof Mike Evans
· Prof David Saggerson


Arts & Humanities, Laws, Social & Historical Sciences

Joint Overall Winners (£250 each)

Alejandra Nunez-de la Mora, Dept of Anthropology
"Developmental effects on salivary progesterone among migrant Bangladeshi women"

Alex Singleton, Dept of Geography
"Tailored Geodemographics for Higher Education"

Built Environment, Engineering and MAPS

Overall Winner (£400)

Peter Davies, Dept of Earth Sciences
"Plant Macrofossil Evidence for the Palaeoecology of Holocene Coastal Dunes"

Runner-up (£100 each)

Sinead Louise Farrell, Dept of Space & Climate Physics
"Lasers In Space Detect Change at the North Pole"

Katherine Joy, Dept of Earth Sciences
"Mineral Chemistry of La Paz Ice Field 02205 – A New Lunar Basalt"

Sania Zaki, Bartlett School of Graduate Studies
"Crime Patterns in Residential Areas"

2004 EMB Competition Winners
EMB Competition Winners
Clinical Sciences

Overall Winner (£400)

Farrokh Pakzad, Institute of Nuclear Medicine & Department of Surgery
"PPP – Probing Proliferation with PET"

Runner-up (£100 each)

Jacqueline Fryer, Dept of Virology, Royal Free
"Susceptibility of Porcine Cytomegalovirus to Antiviral Drugs"

Carles Gaston-Massuet, Institute of Child Health
"Analysis of Zic2, an essential gene in mouse neurulation"

Florian Plattner, Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research
"Age-dependent alteration in tau hyperphosphorylation and APP processing in transgenic mice with regionally restricted p25 expression"

Gabriele Pollara, Immunology & Molecular Pathology
"Dendritic cell innate responses to herpes simplex virus infection"

Life Sciences

Overall Winner (£400)

Nicholas White, Anatomy & Developmental Biology
"Purinergic Signalling in Malignant Melanoma"

Runner-up (£100 each)

Maddalena Campioni-Noack, Dept of Anatomy & Developmental Biology
"Developmental conditioning with NGF enhances survival in vitro of adult sympathetic neurons"

Anne Doward, Dept of Pharmacology
"Identification and characterisation of an ER-retention motif within the 5-hydroxytryptamine receptor 5HT3B subunit"

Stuart Wigby, Dept of Biology
"The evolution of sexual conflict in Drosophila Melanogaster"

2004 ALS and CS Competition Winners
ALS and CS Competitions Winners
2004 LS Competition Winners
LS Competition Winners

Our competition pages contains details of the entrants. Should you wish your details to be removed, please contact docschoolweb@ucl.ac.uk.