UCL Poster Competition 2002/2003 Gallery

Entries by Department:

Carbon Nanotube Bundle

Michael Mitchell, Bartlett School of Architecture

This is an image I generated in my studies of Carbon Nanotubes for my Masters of Architecture course. It is a 3D computer-generated model showing a bundle of nanotubes after their creation in laboratory conditions. Carbon Nanotubes are a new material based on the recently discovered buckminsterfullerene C 60 molecule. Until 1985 it was thought that carbon was found in nature only in its graphite or diamond form. Buckminsterfullerene (familiarly Bucky-Balls) is a spherical arrangement of 60 carbon atoms that looks like Buckminster Fuller’s geodesic domes, and thus has the honor of his name. While Bucky-Balls have not become the ground-breaking new material that their discoverers had hoped they would become, Carbon Nanotubes were created from them and are proving to be a path to a potential paradigm shift. Carbon Nanotubes are tiny, only about a nanometer in diameter. They can conduct electricity and have already been made into nano-scale transistors. Carbon-based chips could someday replace silicon-based chips and drastically reduce the size and increase the speed of computing technology. Carbon Nanotubes are also incredibly strong. Theoretical assessments have put their tensile strength far above carbon fiber and for that matter any other material known to humankind, including steel. It is this incredible strength of Carbon Nanotubes is at the center of my thesis research. What could be possible with such a material in terms of building? Could we “grow” this building material one molecule at a time? Will we grow whole buildings and bridges from it, again, one molecule at a time? Or will the architecture we develop which utilizes the newfound strength of Carbon Nanotubes exists only on the nano level, never to be seen without a microscope, but nevertheless assist our macro world through its unique properties?


All images and text copyright their artist/author and MAY NOT be used for any purposes without the express permission of the original artist/author. All Rights Reserved, .
Please contact docschoolweb@ucl.ac.uk with any problems or queries.

Andrzej Loesch , Vasileios Vasilakis
Katja Ackermann
Prof. Matteo Adinolfi
Micheal Ajerman
Simon Bott, Alex Freeman, Connie Parkinson
Connie Parkinson, Alex Freeman, Simon Bott
Marc Amoyel
Marco Angelo
Juan Arango
Rachel Ashworth
Oliver Morris and Audrey Mercer
Luca Baldoni
Elizabeth Bartlett
David Becker
Babak Behnam
Russell Binions
Veronique Blanc
Alexander Blustin
Helene Burningham
Michael Burns
Emma Cadman
Sophie Campbell
Umber Cheema
Michael Redd, Connie Au-Yeung
Simon Corcoran
Petula Coutinho
Michael Cronin
Paula J. da Mota Santos
Geoff Dart
Anna De Simoni
Enrico De Vita
Dr Ethaar El-Emir
Gary Evans
Janet Fernihough
Stefanie Frank
Marcus Fruttiger
O Fukui
Annette Gaertner
Maia Garau
Haidy Geismar
Helen Glanville
Peter Grindrod
Susan Hall
Ray HarrisRunner Up
David J Hillman
Mike Hughes
Oliver Hulme
Aaron Hunter
Tim Hutton
Nannette Jackowski
Mike Horton, Polly Nash, Jocelyn Cammack, Penny McCarthy
Postgraduate Law Research Students Joint Entry
Thibaut Jonckheere
Marc Emyr Huw Jones
Asaki Kan
Fire Kovarovic
Kornelius Kupczik
Stuart Lansdell
Tony Leatham
May Leung
William LewisRunner Up
Adam Liston
Andrzej Loesch
Troy Manning
Marcos Martinón-Torres
Ian McWhirter
Connie Au-Yeung, Michael Redd
Michael Mitchell
Steve Nesbitt
Jennifer Nightingale
Lucy Norris
John Payne
Mary Pearce
Francesca Perlman
Rebecca Porter
Cindy Qiu
Ariel N Rad
Sonja Rakic
Derren Ready
Philip A Cook, Rebecca Blyth
Stephanie I. Riak Akuei
Jody Rosenblatt
Xavier Sanchez Valladares
Anisha Sawhney
Stephanie Schüller
Sophie Scott
Ms Libby Sheldon
Ewan ShillandRunner Up
Karin Shmueli
Alex Freeman, Simon Bott, Connie Parkinson
Emmanuel Soignard
Christian Specht
Tom Stallard
Rhaana Starling
Lauren Taylor
Tine Thorup
Neil Torbett
Niki Tsakiri
Jayant VaidyaRunner Up
Roger Wesson
Jonathan Weston
Alaine Whinnett
Adam Wojcik
Keiko YamamotoFirst Prize
Doshik Yang
Vladamir Yershov

Key: Winner First Prize, Runner-Up Runner-Up, People's Choice Prize People's Choice Prize

Back to Winners